Why I’m a Proverbs 31 woman (but it’s not what you might think)

I’m a Proverbs 31 woman.

You know how Proverbs 31 gets a lot of attention (both negative and positive) and women strive to live up to this seemingly impossible list of ideals? Yeah, that’s not what I’m talking about.

Before the famous part of that passage are these words:

“Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves; ensure justice for those being crushed. Yes, speak up for the poor and helpless, and see that they get justice.” Proverbs 31:8-9

I have been drawn to and inspired by these words for as long as I can remember. I am a writer to the depths of my inner self, and when I feel paralyzed to do something, I return to these words and know that even if I can’t do, I can always tell.

I’ll admit: I’m not always good and faithful with this. A couple of years ago, I signed up with an organization called The Exodus Road to use my blogging voice and audience to tell people about the awesome work they are doing to rescue people from trafficking and sex slavery. And then I sort of stopped, not because I stopped believing in it, but because I got busy with other things. Badge_IBlogForFreedom

Well, I’m glad to say this partnership is back, and in the coming months, I will blog once a month (on the 8th or 9th of the month) about trafficking and sex slavery. When I first joined The Exodus Road blogging team, I wrote this post about why I care about this issue. You can find my previous posts under the category “The Exodus Road.” I’m mildly embarrassed by my blog silence on this issue, but I’m grateful for the re-launch of this amazing opportunity.

I respect what The Exodus Road is doing. They are passionately pursuing freedom for those enslaved and they are partnering with organizations around the world to accomplish this mission. They are changing lives and telling real stories of real people being rescued. It’s not just a fad for them.

october-2014-862x485

I’m humbled by their work. And I don’t want to be indifferent to it.

Because it’s easy to go about my life and not think about people who are not free. I live in America, the land of the free, so my worldview is a bit skewed. But in other parts of the world, there is no freedom. And in the grand scheme of humanity, if there are enslaved people somewhere, then I, too, am enslaved.

I might not be able to go to the places where investigators are gathering evidence on traffickers, but I can tell you about the work they are doing. And I might not personally know any victims of trafficking but I can tell your their stories. You might tire of hearing about it, but my hope is to keep telling you about this issue so that none of us forget that there are real people in our world who are really captives.

I know I can’t do everything, but I know I can do something.

Telling–it’s my something. It’s a start.

And it’s better than nothing.

I hope you’ll follow along with these stories and find your something, too.

5 thoughts on “Why I’m a Proverbs 31 woman (but it’s not what you might think)

  1. Pingback: Take Your Seat | coffeesnob318

  2. Pingback: Where dignity begins | Living Echoes

  3. Pingback: What kind of mother would do that? | Living Echoes

  4. Pingback: When reality is uncomfortable but it’s still real #ERbloggers | Living Echoes

  5. Pingback: What to do when you don’t know what to do | Living Echoes

Leave a comment