How sponsoring a child changed my life

I’m guest posting on my friend Carol Cool’s blog this week about how child sponsorship through Compassion International changed me, as well as the child I sponsored. Here’s a preview:

“Dear Sponsor Lisa …”

I was just out of college and a newish Christian when I had the opportunity to sponsor a child through Compassion International. His name was Gian and he was 5 years old and lived in Peru. I don’t remember what compelled me except that I had a job and could afford the $30 a month and it felt like something a Christian would do.

Fast forward 12 ½ years. I’m a wife and a mom, and my “son” is 17 and about to graduate. He recently wrote these words to me: 

Read the rest on Carol’s Blog, I’m No Superstar.

One thought on “How sponsoring a child changed my life

  1. Pingback: 5 on Friday: Ways your money can make a difference | Living Echoes

Leave a Reply

