First steps

The first week

Starting weight: 186.4

It’s been an exciting and challenging start to the My Loss Their Gain Campaign. Two good friends in the town where I live have pledged to join me on the journey, which is great from an accountability standpoint. Another friend from college has offered her fitness expertise and support. I’ve been humbled and inspired by the shows of support from family and friends and I’m looking forward to the process.
Fitness and nutrition highlights of this week:
  • Ordered a salad and baked potato at Wendy’s instead of a burger and fries and didn’t even miss them.
  • At our favorite Mexican restaurant in our hometown, I cut my burrito in half, saving a portion for lunch the next day, something I don’t think I’ve ever done there. And it was better the next day because I hadn’t stuffed myself the night before. Here’s the proof: 
  • On a make-your-own brownie sundae, I skipped extra chocolate sauce and whipped cream. At the same party, I didn’t have seconds on salads.
  • Ran 1.7 miles with my husband on Saturday morning.

Those were the successes. I had some failures, too. Like extra helpings of delicious food at a wedding reception. And a lot of snacks while driving 18 hours in the car on Thursday.

This week, too, will pose a challenge. I’m counseling at a Bible camp. Famously good food and lots of it. I’m praying for self-control and the chance to run a couple of times while I’m there. I’m looking forward to the challenge.

Until next week, chew on these comparisons: In Liberia, the life expectancy at birth is 57 years. In the U.S. it is 78.37. In Liberia, the median age is 18. In the U.S. it is 36.9. (Source: The CIA World Factbook.)

Leave a Reply

